Jutsu are special attacks that ninja use beyond simple fist and chakra attacks. A comprehensive database of current in-game jutsus can be found by clicking on the links below. A jutsu's effectiveness is dependent on its level, your offense/opponent's defense, and your/their general stats.

Attack Types

  • Ninjutsu: Jutsu based on ninja skills, usually utilizing chakra manipulation.
  • Genjutsu: Jutsu based on the effects of illusions.
  • Taijutsu: Jutsu based on hand-to-hand combat skills.
  • Weapons: Jutsu based on skills with various weapons.
  • Specialization: Jutsu based on the Specialization option.

The Manual's jutsu descriptions have been fitted with color-coded User/Target tags.
[User] - denotes the player using the jutsu.
[Opponent] - is the target for offensive jutsus.
[Target] - is the target for jutsus that can be beneficial to target yourself or allies. In the case of summons, it depends on who is stronger: If they are, target them and summon. If you are, target yourself and summon.

Jutsu Types

There are seven types of jutsu: normal, special, forbidden, village, bloodline, tier, and loyalty.

  1. Normal Jutsu can be trained as long as you have the chakra, stamina, and ryo required.
  2. Special Jutsu take three hours to train every level, in addition to chakra, stamina, and ryo costs.
  3. Forbidden Jutsu require a scroll to learn. Scrolls can be bought with ryo from other players in Trade, or from the Black Market with popularity points. You must go to the Forbidden Peak to train forbidden jutsu for the first time.
  4. Village Jutsu can only be trained as long as you are in a certain village.
  5. Bloodline Jutsu can only be trained with the required bloodline.
  6. Tier Jutsu can only be trained in the correct village, and only when you have 500,000 respect points from doing diplomacy. You can then buy the required scroll from the tier shop for ryo.
    • Horizon was the exception to this. Instead, you needed 1.5 million respect points for all of the scrolls.
    • Remember, you lose all your respect in a village if you leave it.
  7. Loyalty Jutsu can be trained once you achieve the correct amount of loyalty days.
    • Currently there is only one which is unlocked at 60 days. This is a healing jutsu called Shometsu (Specialization jutsu, Chuunin).
About Forbiddens


Some of the more common effects are:

  • Damage
  • Temporarily increasing/decreasing the user or opponent's stats in battle
  • Causing/removing status effects, such as residual damage or stun
  • Healing

Note that STUNS have a cooldown rate, and so target cannot get stunned again until 5 rounds have passed.


Jutsu Experience

Using a jutsu in battle nets you some jutsu experience, which goes towards increasing the jutsu's level. The experience awarded is dependent on the opponent you use it on.

Player versus Player:† Awards 5000 exp divided by level.
Player versus AI: Awards 1000 exp divided by level.

Note: PvP only counts if the opponent is Neutral or Enemy, and if the fight occurs inside of a village. Spars, battles between allies, and random map battles give AI experience. Source.

Exp needed to Level

Jutsu Baseline and Uses


What is Baseline?

It's a term or a standard created by the players to compare one jutsu to another… a measurement to say exactly how much better/worse a jutsu is compared to another jutsu.

For example, in lv.200, a normal jutsu has 1.1 baseline and forbidden jutsu is 1.3 baseline. It means the forbidden jutsu is (1.3/1.1)=1.1818 times better than the normal jutsu.
If the jutsus are Jounin rank, the normal jutsu is equivalent to 143000 damage (130000 X 1.1) each turn and the forbidden jutsu is equivalent to 169000 damage (130000 X 1.3) including damage and effect.
Here, 1 Jounin baseline is equal to 130000 damage (10% of Jounin HP cap, 1,300,000).
Baseline is counted on how much damage a BL of 120% off boost does to a BL with no def boost. Meaning with a 1.1 baseline jutsu, a SW is indeed supposed to deal 143k damage on a LoTBB.
But LoTBB has weap resistance, so another LoTBB deals 110% damage on the LoTBB, meaning if a LoTBB uses a 1.1 baseline jutsu on another LoTBB, he won't deal 1.1 baseline worth (143k) damage, but 1.1 / 120 X 110 = 1.008 baseline worth damage which translates into around 131040 damage.

Seeing the chart above in spoiler, one could calculate the baseline of a jutsu and also the jutsu usages. For example, if there was a special bloodline jutsu, it'd have 1.2 (for being Special) + 0.05 (for being BL jutsu)= 1.25 baseline and would have (8 - 25% of 8) = 6 uses per battle. But if the jutsu was a specialization jutsu as well, its baseline would be 1.25 - 0.05 = 1.2 in level 200.

Jutsu General

All genjutsu use willpower as their secondary generals.
All taijutsu use strength as their secondary generals.
All weapon use speed as their secondary generals.
All ninjutsu use intelligence as their secondary generals.

The generals listed above does not exclude a Jutsu from having a Different main general. Seeing as how 2nd gen accounts for roughly 0.5% of a jutsu's overall damage, the second general is far from useful.

Though most generals are to be tested. A few things work with a standard distribution.
Normal jutsu, bloodline or not, can be -any- main general. Regardless of offense.
Special Jutsu, unless AoE, are always their offenses main general.
Village Jutsu, work the exact same as Special Jutsu.
Bloodline Special, these too work as special jutsu.
Forbidden Jutsu are always their offense main general. They also debuff that general.

Additional Information

jutsu.txt · Last modified: 2013/09/17 04:18 (external edit)